Our Early Years and KS1 Curriculum at Woodlands School follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which consists of seven areas of learning and development.


 The three prime areas of learning are:

* Personal, Social and Emotional Development

* Communication and Language

* Physical Development


The four specific areas of learning are:

* Mathematics

* Literacy

* Understanding of the World

* Expressive Arts and Design


Pupil’s Learning Intention Maps (PLIM’s) are incorporated into the curriculum enabling all children to progress at their own level and pace.

Pupil’s individual programmes devised by other therapists, such as Physiotherapy and Speech and Language are also incorporated in to our play based learning activities and daily routines.

We provide developmentally appropriate, play based learning within an exciting and stimulating indoor and outdoor environment. Our children are supported to join in both child-initiated and adult led activities across the whole curriculum..

At Woodlands School we follow the Principles of the Early Years Foundation Curriculum that every child is a unique child who will develop and learn through positive relationships within an enabling environment.